catholicism
Catholicism soumerd_retardataire 10 months ago 66%

Gospel of the day

Gospel of the day

The last chapter of the book of Amos reminds us that the God israelis worshipped isn't only a national god of Israel, but the living God : ‭‭Amos‬ ‭9:7‭-‬11 :
Israel, I am the Lord God, and the Ethiopians are no less important to me than you are.
I brought you out of Egypt, but I also brought the Philistines from Crete and the Arameans from Kir.
My eyes have seen what a sinful nation you are, and I'll wipe you out.
But I will leave a few of Jacob's descendants.
I, the Lord, have spoken !

At my command, all of you will be sifted like grain.
Israelites who remain faithful will be scattered among the nations.
And the others will be trapped like trash in a sifter.

Some of you are evil, and you deny that you will ever get caught.
But you will be killed.

In the future, I will rebuild David's fallen kingdom.


‭‭ ‭‭John‬ ‭8:48‭-‬59‬ ‭:
The people told Jesus, “We were right to say that you are a Samaritan and that you have a demon in you !”

Jesus answered, “I don't have a demon in me. I honor my Father, and you refuse to honor me.
I don't want honor for myself. But there is one who wants me to be honored, and he is also the one who judges.
I tell you for certain that if you obey my words, you will never die.”

Then the people said, “Now we are sure that you have a demon. Abraham is dead, and so are the prophets.
How can you say that no one who obeys your words will ever die ?
Are you greater than our father Abraham ?
He died, and so did the prophets. Who do you think you are ?”

Jesus replied, “If I honored myself, it would mean nothing. My Father is the one who honors me.
You claim that he is your God, even though you don't really know him.
If I said I didn't know him, I would be a liar, just like all of you.
But I know him, and [because?] I do what he says.
Your father Abraham was really glad to see me.”

“You are not even 50 years old !” they said. “How could you have seen Abraham ?”

Jesus answered, “I tell you for certain that even before Abraham was, I was, and I am.”

The people picked up stones to kill Jesus, but he hid and left the temple.

(i.d.k...)


Surah Al-Baqarah(, "The Cow") 2:238-245 :
Guard strictly the (five daily )prayers, especially the middle/third one.
And stand before God with obedience(, and do not speak to others during the prayers).
And if you fear( an enemy), pray on foot or riding.
And when you are in safety, offer the prayer in the manner He has taught you, which you knew not( before).

And those of you who die and leave behind wives should bequeath for their wives a year’s maintenance and residence without turning them out, but if they(, wives,) leave, there is no sin on you for that which they do of themselves, provided it is honourable(, e.g., lawful marriage). And God is All-Mighty, All-Wise.

And for divorced women, maintenance( should be provided) on reasonable( scale). This is a duty on the pious/righteous.

Thus God makes clear His laws to you, in order that you may understand.

Did you(, O Muhammad صلى الله عليه وسلم,) not think of those who went forth from their homes in thousands, fearing death ?
God said to them, "Die". And then He restored them to life.
Truly, God is full of bounty to mankind, but most men thank not.[, possible interpretation]

And fight in the Way of God(, as piously/righteously as possible), and know that God is All-Hearer, All-Knower.

Who is he that will lend to God a goodly loan so that He may multiply it to him many times?
And it is God that decreases or increases( your provisions), and unto H..er.im you shall return.


Saints of the day :
St. Andrew Avellino, Theatine, Priest St. Leo the Great, Pope and Doctor of the Church(, read more on Vatican News)

2
0
Comments 0