catholicism
Catholicism soumerd_retardataire 11 months ago 42%

Gospel of the day

Gospel of the day

‭‭Amos‬ ‭6:1‭-‬4‬ :
Do you rulers in Jerusalem and in the city of Samaria feel safe and at ease ?
Everyone bows down to you, and you think you are better than any other nation. But you are in for trouble !
Look what happened to the cities of Calneh, powerful Hamath, and Gath in Philistia. Are you greater than any of those kingdoms ?
You are cruel, and you forget the coming day of judgment.
You rich people lounge around on beds with ivory posts, while dining on the meat of your lambs and calves.

‭‭6:12‭ :
Horses can't gallop on rocks ; oceans can't be plowed. But you have turned justice and fairness into bitter poison.

I didn't understood this verse : ‭6:10‬ :
As you carry out a corpse to prepare it for burial, your relative in the house will ask, “Are there others ?”
You will answer, “No !”
Then your relative will reply, “Be quiet ! Don't dare mention the name of the Lord.”
[Is it because he was about to add "i swear by God" ? I.d.k. If so, it'd mean that God was angry(, and you don't call H..er.is name in vain), and nothing happens by coincidence.
Furthermore, there's a cause for everything and these causes need to be solved instead of complaining about the results, God 'defined as'/'in H..er.is form of' Destiny/Providence is linked to God as the Causality(, itself linked to God as the Creator(&End&'Perfection/Maximum'&..)).]


‭‭‭‭John‬ ‭8:21‭-‬32‬ :
Jesus also told them, “I am going away, and you will look for me. But you cannot go where I am going, and you will die with your sins unforgiven.”

The people asked, “Does he intend to kill himself ? Is that what he means by saying we cannot go where he is going ?”

Jesus answered, “You are from below, but I am from above. You belong to this world, but I don't. This is why I said you will die with your sins unforgiven.
If you don't have faith in me for who I am, you will die [And indeed, Israel did disappeared, but this message is intemporal], and your sins will not be forgiven.”

“Who are you ?” they asked Jesus.

Jesus answered, “I am exactly who I told you at the beginning.
There is a lot more I could say to condemn you. But the one who sent me is truthful, and I tell the people of this world only what I have heard from h[H?]im.” [The traduction forgot the capitalised letter, probably not on purpose.]
No one understood that Jesus was talking to them about the Father.
Jesus went on to say, “When you have lifted up the Son of Man [And not merely of Jacob or even Abraham], you will know who I am [Other traductions write "you will know that I am", and perhaps that when we give up the boundaries between "me/us" and "them" we become "one with God" as discussed briefly before about this bread being as myself as my own body, and wine as my own blood ? I haven't seen sufficient proofs for that meaning for now, it may have been a way to explain that the Truth is God's word, since it comes from a culture in which prophets spoke for a millenia in God's name(, and not for the last centuries), and/or perhaps just an accomplishment of previous prophecies, but it's said in a weird/cryptic/occult way.].
You will also know that I don't do anything on my own. I say only what my Father taught me [or more exactly what "i managed to learn from my Father" ? Less easy to follow Jesus/God's message formulated like that].
The one who sent me is with me. I always do what pleases him, and he will never leave me.”

[I.d.k. about you, but it's not crystal clear in my eyes(, yet?)]


Surah Al-Baqarah(, "The Cow") 2:216-220 :
Jihâd/'Holy fighting'/'Praiseworthy struggle' is ordained for you/muslims, though you dislike it, and it may be that you dislike a thing which is good for you and that you like a thing which is bad for you. God knows but you do not know.
They ask you concerning fighting in the Sacred Months(, i.e., 1st, 7th, 11th, and 12th months of the Islâmic calendar). Say "Fighting therein is a great transgression, but a greater transgression with God is to prevent mankind from following the Way of God, to disbelieve in Him, to prevent access to Al-Masjid-Al-Harâm, and to drive out its inhabitants, and polytheism is worse than killing.
And they will never cease fighting you until they turn you back from your religion if they can.
And whosoever of you turns back from his religion and dies as a disbeliever, then his deeds will be lost in this life and in the Hereafter, and they will be the dwellers of the Fire. They will abide therein forever."
Verily, those who have believed, and those who have emigrated( for God’s Religion), and have striven hard in the Way of God, all these hope for God’s Mercy. And God is Oft-Forgiving, Most-Merciful.

They ask you(, O Muhammad صلى الله عليه وسلم,) concerning alcoholic drink and gambling.
Say : "In them is a great sin, and benefit for men, but the sin of them is greater than their benefit."

And they ask you what they ought to spend.
Say : "That which is beyond your needs." [wow... Imagine if this command 'had been'/was obeyed]. Thus God makes clear to you His Laws in order that you may give thought [It's a lesser formulation on purpose i think, because it's hard to follow, and perhaps partly so that we may consider/realize that what we have in excess should be used for 'other creatures'/'doing good']."

And they ask you concerning orphans.
Say : "The best thing is to work honestly in their property, and if you mix your affairs with theirs, then they are your brothers. And God knows him who means mischief, from him who means good.
And if God had wished, He could have put you into difficulties. Truly, God is All-Mighty, All-Wise."


Saint of the day : St. Prosdocimus, First Bishop of Padua : Prosdocimus, whose name means “awaited or expected”, lived in the early years of the Church.
He is said to have been appointed by St Peter as Bishop of Padua, where he is honoured as the city’s first Bishop.
He is remembered for numerous miracles and wonders.

-1
0
Comments 0