animation
Animation kingmongoose7877 1 year ago 100%

One of These Days...Ian Emes R.I.P.

www.cartoonbrew.com

Today's kind of a sad day here at c/animation@lemmy.film.

"I Hate Pink Floyd." That was the phrase famously scrawled on Johnny Rotten's t-shirt when he first "auditioned" for The Sex Pistols way back in 1975. And it was also true for me as a kid, cemented (much) later by Roger Waters' masturbatory epic "cry for the rich kid" The Wall. I also hate Pink Floyd. But I digress.

Ian Emes, experimental animator most famous for the work done for Pink Floyd (and many others in the music business) had died, as best as I can nail it down, July 23 of this year. And that is very sad.

When I was a MovieSnob in training, I saw (EDIT 16:00:32, CEST) Emes' French Windows on the big screen, the opening short of an all-animation festival (including Will Vinton's Closed Mondays and the Fleischers' Superman, The Mechanical Monsters!). And Kid MovieSnob was impressed. So, regardless of being considered the de facto Pink Floyd animator, thanks from the bottom of my icy heart, Mr. Emes. You at least showed me what animation could be.

Bonus-Because-I-Love-You Link: Emes' French Windows in HD, instead of CB's 360px linked video.

!moviesnob@lemmy.film

3
0
Comments 0