"Initials" by "Florian Körner", licensed under "CC0 1.0". / Remix of the original. - Created with dicebear.comInitialsFlorian Körnerhttps://github.com/dicebear/dicebearCH
chat Scraft161 1 year ago 100%

[Discussion] privacy issues regarding Lemmy

I want to preface this with the fact that I'm quite new to lemmy and using the fediverse as a whole (this is my first account on a fediverse server), but I have had my eyes on the concept for a while now. What I want to address is some of the issues regarding Lemmy and I want to discuss solutions to addressing those. I do want to note that I haven't looked into the source for lemmy and my personal source of information is this thread on mastodon which also talks about the political issues with this platform (I'm going to be sidestepping the political/humanitarian views the devs seem to have for this thread as I want to keep discussion here purely about the privacy of the platform)

the issues I want to address here are related to how lemmy deals with "deleted" content.

  1. comments deleted by users are still visible to admins
  2. deleted user accounts still have their data remain on the instance.

both of these are serious issues concerning user privacy and also violate several laws around the world regarding privacy (most notably the EU's GDPR). additionally these seem to be easy (if not trivial) to address from a code perspective so I don't see why these changes could not be made by someone familiar with the project and then used by instances before they get merged in the main project (if they will ever do so).

I want instance admins to be aware of this particular issue (not just for my home instance, but as many as we can) and thus want this thread to be one of open discussion about how we would go about this. I'm just a random guy on the internet; but I want to know what we can do about this at the very least and maybe actually make some sort of difference.

2
0
Comments 0