meta
Meta and Announcements Wander 1 year ago 100%

Notice about scheduled instance restarts to prevent Hot and Active timelines from becoming stale.

Lemmy wasn't prepared for such an explosive growth and that means there are some kinks the devs need to iron out.

The current version has a small bug which causes the hot and active calculation for post sorting to stop at after some time.

In order to keep your timelines fresh I've setup a scheduled task to have the Lemmy service on the server restarting every four hours.

The next restart will be at 14:00 UTC (2PM UTC). It will happen every four hours, always at 00 minutes. Each restart should make the site unavailable for no longer than 20 to 30 seconds.

Let me thank everyone who's been posting content. You're awesome, all of you. I'll do my best to keep everything running as smoothly as possible so that you can have a great experience at using the site.

Apologies for any inconvenience!

Edit: I set it to restart every two hours. I hope it's not overkill. I calculated that the downtime is more like 10 seconds. It will always be at 0 minutes of every second hour.

13
1
Comments 1