nix
Nix etherswangel 10 months ago 100%

How does Nix (package manager) work on Apple Silicon?

Hi, I have been working on Void Linux for a while and all the develop dependencies are installed by nix. With nix, I can make sure every project is using the right version of libraries with no conflicts, even though it causes much inconvenience (especially with python).

Now I purchased a new macbook, and I wonder if I can keep using nix to manage environments, a few points of my concerns listed:

  • it doesn't support single user install on macos and requires a lot more steps than on linux, can I uninstall nix and all its packages cleanly without leaving anything? (That's my original point of using nix, develop without ruining the system)
  • is there enough cache for apple silicon, or I have to build locally for the most time?
  • is there any package in nixpkgs actually unzipping a .deb or doing sth similar?

Thanks for your help!

2
2
Comments 2