tomatoes
Tomatoes thrawn21 • 1 year ago • 100%

Yet another reason why I love tomatoes, these two volunteers haven't been given a lick of love (our last real rainfall was nearly two months ago), and yet they're still producing delicious fruits.

Yet another reason why I love tomatoes, these two volunteers haven't been given a lick of love (our last real rainfall was nearly two months ago), and yet they're still producing delicious fruits.

I do wonder where they're getting their water, we had an unusually wet spring, so maybe deeper soil is still moist. But another option is that it's growing in an area sandwiched between mine and my neighbor's pools, and maybe one or both of them are leaking 😓

Another interesting thing is that I believe these to be bird dropping volunteers. I've never tried to grow anything here (the previous owners used to drain their pool water here, always thought the chlorine would have hurt the soil), and I've never put compost down that may have had stray seeds. They also don't look quite like any tomatoes I've grown before.

[Image description: a hand holding a red plum sized tomato and a red mini cherry tomato. Unfocused in the background are two sprawling tomato plants, growing together to look like one.]

1
0
Comments 0