AskKbin
Moving to: m/AskMbin! hakase 1 year ago 100%

What are the characteristics of the main Kbin instances?

I first came across Lemmy in my exodus from Reddit, so that's the platform I'm most familiar with, but now that I'm a bit more fluent with how it works, I wanted to start to branch out to the rest of the Fediverse as well, starting with Kbin.

I want to create a Kbin account to try the platform out, but I'm not sure which instances have which "characteristics" yet, so I'm not sure which one I'd feel most comfortable with. So, what are the main Kbin instances, and what are they like?

For example, here are my impressions of various Lemmy instances so far, to give an example of the kinds of info I'm looking for:

lemmy.ml - privacy and security focused, with a hint of tankie politics, requires a paragraph to make an account, but no email

lemmy.world - catch-all instance that's pretty neutral in most ways, easy to sign up for but does require an email

beehaw.org - very restrictive instance, designed to be a safe space for its users, heavily focused on gender and social issues. Very stringent moderation and account application requirements

sh.itjust.works - one of the more open and "anything-goes" instances, defederates with relatively few other instances, and has completely open signups

1
0
Comments 0