unraid
unRAID scrubbles 1 year ago 100%

Planning a drive upgrade, looking for confirmation of steps

Hey all,

Looking at upgrading a couple of drives in my array. They had a previous use before so they do need to be precleared. I have a 2-parity system so I'm not terribly worried about something going wrong as a whole, but I am very worried about me doing something stupid.

I'm looking to follow this guide: https://flemmingss.com/replacing-a-data-drive-in-unraid/

I'd also like to maximize uptime because I have family who uses some of my self hosted services.

Anyway, my plan is:

  1. Stop the array

  2. Select "no device" on the drive I want to remove

  3. Start the array in maintenance mode

  4. Shutdown and remove the drive

  5. (This is where I get fuzzy), should I install the new drive, boot and preclear, or something else?

  6. Boot the server

  7. Assign the new drive

  8. Start array in normal mode, should autostart the rebuild process

Thoughts? Confirmation? Thanks folks

4
0
Comments 0